RSS

The Elusive Why – Yours and Theirs

31 May

Today in my inbox was an explosive article, in my opinion, that got me to thinking about my journey so far in the Innovative Teacher Academy. Over the past several weeks, I have been learning with an amazing group of educators from a variety of experiences and places throughout the world. A.J. Juliani, our guide, has set up some amazing weekly backgrounders, activities and questions to keep us talking and sharing. There are opportunities for the ITA17 group to interact socially and virtually. If it weren’t for ITA17, I would not have been exposed to this article. It’s OK not to have a ‘Why’ by Tim Le Roy streamed in my Medium Daily Digest this morning (one of the tools presented to us in ITA17) and set me off to use my Google Voice Typer so I could get my ideas down that were swirling in my head (I just couldn’t type fast enough and I didn’t want to lose any of my thoughts).

PAUSE here to READ the article!

Yes, it’s worth the read first and come back to my musings below. In my work with teachers and administrators as well as Senior Exec in my school division and sitting on various educational committees (provincially and internationally), I believe that the success in moving forward on any project or idea IS THE WHY. If people in an organization, students in a classroom, administrators in a school division, educational departments in a Ministry of Education don’t have a strong handle on THE WHY, no matter who is part of the group, then the WHY doesn’t come as easily, nor do the actions to move the WHY forward, nor the sustainable results. We cannot just skip over THE WHY and Tim’s article is potent in saying that THE WHY can be an individual OR a collective one. For me that was exciting to read. In both my professional and personal life I carry several WHYs, some are easy to attain and attend to (such as supporting my children’s academic and athletic pathways) while others are more elusive (my goals in ITA17 need to change since I’m not completely achieving them).

Reading this article then also pointed me to another goldmine of interesting people and topics. For those of you who are TED-talk aficionados, you’ll now appreciate, if you have not yet been exposed to, like I was to the DO Lectures with speakers who inspire others to DO, too. I came upon Timothy Ferriss’ How and Why to Be Unreasonable Lecture from 2008. I did not know who Timothy was so it was interesting to hear about his incredible experiences when he introduced himself and the different case studies that he shared.

Watch his video (26 mins.) below while thinking about:

  • What resonated with you?
  • What is your FIRST next step?

 

Timothy Ferriss: Aim for the Impossible from The Do Lectures on Vimeo.

I leave you with one of the quotes that Timothy mentioned, in further detail so that you can appreciate Marianne’s overall thoughts. It also captures the VISION for the educational work that I work relentlessly to support.

 

Leave a Reply

 
