RSS

Intentional Leader: A Guiding Vision

28 Sep

Monthly Theme: VISION

Week 4: A Guiding Vision

Visions endure

…..hmmm, how can I ensure that PSD’s vision of making learning exciting through exploration, creativity and imagination so that all learners aspire to reach their dreams takes hold in the work that I do? This week is looking at leaders who have established an enduring vision that continues to hold true even when they are no longer part of the organization.

 

When one is asked the question to reflect on memorable leaders who have finished well and have left behind a continued vision, I am sure that many of you can come up with 5-10 people instantly. Some of these leaders could be political figures, business persons, family members, etc. Ask yourself, why did you choose them? What did each of these leaders leave behind? As for myself, I found that the leaders on my list where memorable because of five main things. They were:

 

1)      Caring – they care about their role in the organization and take it seriously. They also care about relationships and employee impact on the organization. They want everyone to succeed.

2)     Truthful – they share the truth specifically designed for each individual, no sugar coating! They care about you being the best you can be.

3)     Confident – a leader with a solid self-esteem is not afraid to allow others to succeed. Just because they are in a leadership position, memorable leaders reveal that they do not have all of the answers and that’s OK. They are confident in what they know, what they are constantly learning and are always connecting with various experts found within the organization.

4)     Human – leaders are human and those willing to show and admit their mistakes are easy to trust and follow. People can easily relate to that vulnerability and therefore support the incredible amount of work that is asked of them.

5)     Passionate – even in the most challenging situations, leaders who are strong, supportive and collaborative are unforgettable.

 

If you have time, (about 20 minutes), check out Itay Talgram’s TEDtalk on Lead Like the Great Conductors which showcases my five memorable leader points beautifully. I believe that leaders see the potential in people, cultivate their strengths, develop individuals AND groups. See how these conductors pull out the ‘essence of potential’ (as I call it) within their orchestras.

 

In my own areas of growth regarding different components of the vision (definition, communication, continuity, strategy, commitment), I need to take and make more opportunities to link the daily work that I do with the PSD vision. (Yes, I commented last week on this, but it IS important.) However, how and what resources should I be taping into to grow in sharing and committing to this vision? This I need more time to reflect on besides this week. (I hope to share this further on in the year.)

 

Besides my own reflection, this week I was to also talk to three people that I work closely with and who are familiar with my work. They were to give me some honest feedback about if I left the organization, how would that impact the vision of the team and PSD? One person said that in order for me to leave, it would be prudent to allow for transition planning and time for another person to take my place. They believed that the work that I did as Curriculum Educational Technology Facilitator was very important and supported the work that administrators and teachers do every day. The second person said that PSD would need to find another person with my same passion and expertise of connecting learning with technology. And the third person remarked that they did not want me to leave so they did not want to discuss it! J It made me realize a few things:

  • I am making an impact at various levels and I feel appreciated.
  • I need to continue to equip team members, administrators and teachers with my knowledge and skills so they can continue to support teaching and learning. (I need to share even more with my Learning Services Team members? Do I share enough?)
  • I don’t have a transition plan in place and maybe that is something that could be thought about.

 

This month of September had me concentrating on being alert and attentive towards VISION. This takes a lot of intentional work on my part and with the people that I work with and connect with. I know where I am going, but inspiring others to join in on the voyage is also important. Actively listening to others and paraphrasing so that I get a clear understanding of where people are at in the VISION process is also very important. ( I need to do this more often!)

What excites you about your vision and the future? What are you hoping for?

 

One response to “Intentional Leader: A Guiding Vision

  1. slitech

    October 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    I was reviewing my Twitter feed early this afternoon when I came across this gem from @WCIT2012mtl stating that the Twitterverse should take 10 minutes to listen to presenter Roger L. Martin speak on the qualities of today’s top leaders. Roger spoke specifically that leaders have many opposing chooses to make and the great leaders DON’T CHOOSE either one; they take the roots of each current solution and forge a new path, a new vision.(That’s the gem!!) He goes on to say that existing models don’t fit our reality. Great leaders reject the status quo and are continually looking to build better models to move forward. Thoughts anyone?

     

Leave a Reply

 
