RSS

WCEAC – October 2010

23 Oct

I have been lucky to attend the Western Canadian Educational Administrator’s Conference for a decade now. Each Fall, when the conference is held in Edmonton, hundreds of administrators, teachers, senior executives, politicians and facilitators have a chance to mingle, network, share and have the opportunity to meet together for a few days.

This year, I counted approximately 30 people from Parkland School Division attending! I imagined them all sharing their thoughts and comments on their workshops in a common area so I sent out a GoogleDocs page for people to input information.

What worked: some did view the document and were impressed of the information that was put into the document, and some added to the document.

What didn’t work: not knowing ahead of time who was all coming to conference, I couldn’t send out a welcome to the GDocs page that they could use if they brought their laptops or smartphones.

What I would like to do at future conferences: find out who from PSD is attending and propose a sharing of notes. It’s always great to view and read someone else’s thoughts during/after a session.

Overall, the sessions at WCEAC were varied, the food was good, the vendors were polite, however, I may suggest:

  • To  set up a criteria for presenters for the type of presentations we would like. I, myself, understand that when a presenter has authored a book, they want to get the word out, however do not continue to refer to it during the session several times. Maybe ADD this book to the session (I’ll pay for it through the registration process?) and I can take away more information rather than the publicity.
  • As well, let’s have the handouts and powerpoints for the sessions already online so I can click on them to either: follow along, refer to, ask questions, write down some reflections, etc.

Overall, I valued the time spent with colleagues, mentors and new friends.

 

Leave a Reply

 
